MASERATI MC20

MASERATI MC20

The new super sports car that combines performance, sportiness and luxury in Maserati’s unique style. and heir to the MC12. A car with racing DNA, 100% Made in Modena and 100% Made in Italy.

 

The new MC20 (MC for Maserati Corsica and 20 for 2020, the year of its world premiere and the beginning of the brand’s new era) is a car with incredible aerodynamic efficiency, which hides a sporty soul, with the new Nettuno engine, a 630 HP V6 with a torque of 730 Nm that allows it to accelerate from 0 to 100 km/h in less than 2.9 seconds and reach a top speed of more than 325 km/h. An engine that signals Maserati’s return to producing its own powertrains after an interruption of more than 20 years.

The MC20 is an extremely light car weighing less than 1,500 kg (unladen weight), and thanks to its power of 630 HP, it is the best in its class in terms of weight/power ratio, with just 2.33 kg/hp. This record is achieved thanks to the use of top quality materials, exploiting all the potential of carbon fibre without sacrificing comfort.

Nettuno, the first engine in this new chapter in the history of Trident, is the twin-turbo V6 of the MC20, a technological jewel already patented at international level, which is bringing MTC (Maserati Twin Combustion) technology, the revolutionary combustion system developed in-house, to roads all over the world.

All in all, this revolutionary project has given birth to a car that embodies Italian excellence. Indeed, the MC20 was designed in Modena and will be built in the Viale Ciro Menotti factory, where Trident models have been built for over 80 years. The new production line, created in the areas where the GranTurismo and GranCabrio models were assembled until November 2019, is now ready to go into action in the historic factory. The site also includes a new paint shop incorporating innovative and environmentally friendly technologies. Nettuno will also be built in Modena, in the new Maserati Engine Lab.

The design of the MC20 was completed in around 24 months, with the involvement from the outset, in an innovative approach, of a team of engineers from the Maserati Innovation Lab, technical specialists from the Maserati Engine Lab and designers from the Maserati Style Centre.

The Virtual Vehicle Dynamics Development System, which includes the use of one of the most advanced dynamic simulators in the world, has been developed in-house by the Maserati Innovation Lab and is based on a complex mathematical model called Virtual Car. This method has made it possible to carry out 97% of the dynamic tests, thus optimising development times. The car was then developed in the best Maserati tradition with exhaustive test sessions on the track and on the road in the most varied conditions of use.

The guiding design theme of the MC20 was the historic identity of the brand, with all the elegance, performance and comfort that are integral to its genetic make-up. The focus on performance led to the design of a car with a distinct personality, with inimitable shapes that make it unique.

The butterfly doors are not only dazzlingly beautiful, but also functional, as they improve the car’s ergonomics and allow optimum access to the passenger compartment.

The aerodynamics have been designed thanks to over two thousand hours of work in the Dallara wind tunnel and over a thousand CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics) simulations, creating a true work of art. The resulting car has a sleek design, with no moving appendages but just a discreet rear spoiler that enhances support without detracting from the beauty of the MC20. The CX is rather below 0.38.

The MC20 is designed to allow both coupe and convertible versions and for full electric power.

 

Once inside the cab, the driver is always at the centre, and nothing should distract him from the sporty driving experience. Every component has a function and is fully driver-oriented. Simple shapes, very few sharp edges and a minimum of distractions. Two 10-inch screens: one for the cockpit and one for the Maserati Touch Control Plus (MTC Plus MIA). Simplicity is also the watchword of the carbon fibre-wrapped centre console, which has just a few features: the wireless smartphone charger, the driving mode selector (GT, Wet, Sport, Corsa and a fifth, ESC Off, which deactivates the control functions), two gear selection buttons, the power window controls, the multimedia system controls and a practical storage compartment under the armrest. All other controls are located on the steering wheel, with the ignition button on the left and the launch control on the right.

The new MC20 will be connected at all times to the Maserati Connect programme. The full range of services includes connected navigation, Alexa and Wifi Hotspot and can also be managed via the Maserati Connect smartphone or the smartwatch application.

For the launch, Maserati has also developed six new colours to characterise the MC20: Bianco Audace, Giallo Genio, Rosso Vincente, Blu Infinito, Nero Enigma and Grigio Mistero. Each of them has been conceived, designed and developed exclusively for this car and they all convey important themes: a strong reference to Made in Italy, to Italian identity and to the land, as well as a reference linked to the Maserati tradition.

Visually and conceptually, there are strong references to the MC12, the car that marked Maserati’s return to racing in 2004. In the same way as its predecessor, the MC20, whose racing soul is explicitly released by its name alone, announces the intention to return to the world of racing.

Category:

exhibitors 2021

MASERATI MC20

MASERATI MC20

Lauréat du Grand Prix
Plus Belle Super Car

 

La nouvelle super voiture de sport qui combine performance, sportivité et luxe dans le style unique de Maserati. et héritière de la MC12. Une voiture avec un ADN de course, 100% Made in Modena et 100% Made in Italy.

 

La nouvelle MC20 (MC pour Maserati Corse et 20 pour 2020, l’année de sa première mondiale et le début de la nouvelle ère de la marque) est une voiture à l’incroyable efficacité aérodynamique, qui cache une âme sportive, avec le nouveau moteur Nettuno, un V6 de 630 chevaux avec un couple de 730 Nm qui permet d’accélérer de 0 à 100 km/h en moins de 2,9 secondes et d’atteindre une vitesse de pointe de plus de 325 km/h. Un moteur qui signale le retour de Maserati à la production de ses propres groupes motopropulseurs après une interruption de plus de 20 ans.

La MC20 est une voiture extrêmement légère de moins de 1 500 kg (poids à vide), et grâce à sa puissance de 630 ch, elle est la meilleure de sa catégorie en termes de rapport poids/puissance, avec seulement 2,33 kg/ch. Ce record est obtenu grâce à l’utilisation de matériaux de qualité de choix, exploitant toutes les potentialités de la fibre de carbone sans aucun sacrifice en matière de confort.

Nettuno, le premier moteur de ce nouveau chapitre de l’histoire du Trident, est le V6 bi-turbo de la MC20, un bijou technologique déjà breveté au niveau international, qui met la technologie MTC (Maserati Twin Combustion), le système de combustion révolutionnaire développé en interne, sur les routes du monde entier.

Dans l’ensemble, ce projet révolutionnaire a donné naissance à une voiture qui incarne l’excellence italienne. En effet, la MC20 a été conçue à Modène et sera construite dans l’usine de Viale Ciro Menotti, où les modèles Trident sont construits depuis plus de 80 ans. La nouvelle ligne de production, créée dans les espaces où les modèles GranTurismo et GranCabrio ont été assemblés jusqu’en novembre 2019, est maintenant prête à entrer en action dans l’usine historique. Le site comprend également un nouvel atelier de peinture intégrant des technologies innovantes et respectueuses de l’environnement. Nettuno sera également construit à Modène, dans le nouveau Maserati Engine Lab.

La conception de la MC20 a été réalisée en 24 mois environ, avec l’implication dès le départ, dans une approche innovante, d’une équipe d’ingénieurs du Maserati Innovation Lab, de spécialistes techniques du Maserati Engine Lab et de designers du Maserati Style Centre.

Le système de développement de la dynamique des véhicules virtuels, qui comprend l’utilisation de l’un des simulateurs dynamiques les plus avancés au monde, a été développé en interne par le Maserati Innovation Lab et est basé sur un modèle mathématique complexe appelé Virtual Car. Cette méthode a permis de réaliser 97 % des tests dynamiques, optimisant ainsi les temps de développement. La voiture a ensuite été mise au point dans la meilleure tradition Maserati avec des séances d’essais exhaustifs sur piste et sur route dans les conditions d’utilisation les plus variées.

Le thème directeur du design de la MC20 était l’identité historique de la marque, avec toute l’élégance, les performances et le confort qui font partie intégrante de sa constitution génétique. L’accent mis sur les performances a conduit à la conception d’une voiture à la personnalité distincte, avec des formes inimitables qui la rendent unique.

Les portes papillon sont non seulement d’une beauté éblouissante, mais aussi fonctionnelles, car elles améliorent l’ergonomie de la voiture et permettent un accès optimal à l’habitacle.

L’aérodynamique a été conçue grâce à plus de deux mille heures de travail dans la soufflerie de Dallara et à plus de mille simulations CFD (Computational Fluid Dynamics), ce qui a permis de créer une véritable œuvre d’art. La voiture qui en résulte a une ligne épurée, sans appendices mobiles mais juste un discret aileron arrière qui améliore l’appui sans nuire à la beauté du MC20. La CX est plutôt en dessous de 0,38.

Le MC20 est conçu pour permettre des versions coupé et cabriolet et pour une puissance électrique complète.

 

Une fois à l’intérieur de la cabine, le conducteur est toujours au centre, et rien ne doit le distraire de l’expérience de la conduite sportive. Chaque composant a une fonction et est entièrement orienté vers le conducteur. Des formes simples, très peu d’arêtes vives et un minimum de distractions. Deux écrans de 10 pouces : un pour le cockpit et l’autre pour la Maserati Touch Control Plus (MTC Plus MIA). La simplicité est également le maître mot de la console centrale gainée de fibre de carbone, qui ne comporte que quelques fonctionnalités : le chargeur de smartphone sans fil, le sélecteur de mode de conduite (GT, Wet, Sport, Corsa et un cinquième, ESC Off, qui désactive les fonctions de commande), deux boutons de sélection de vitesse, les commandes des lève-vitres électriques, les commandes du système multimédia et un compartiment de rangement pratique sous l’accoudoir. Toutes les autres commandes se trouvent sur le volant, avec le bouton d’allumage à gauche et la commande de lancement à droite.

Le nouveau MC20 sera connecté à tout moment au programme Maserati Connect. La gamme complète de services comprend la navigation connectée, Alexa et Wifi Hotspot et peut également être gérée via le smartphone Maserati Connect ou l’application smartwatch.

Pour le lancement, Maserati a également développé six nouvelles couleurs pour caractériser la MC20 : Bianco Audace, Giallo Genio, Rosso Vincente, Blu Infinito, Nero Enigma et Grigio Mistero. Chacune d’entre elles a été conçue, dessinée et développée exclusivement pour cette voiture et elles véhiculent toutes des thèmes importants : une référence forte au Made in Italy, à l’identité italienne et à la terre, ainsi qu’une référence liée à la tradition Maserati.

Visuellement et conceptuellement, il y a de fortes références à la MC12, la voiture qui a marqué le retour de Maserati en course en 2004. De la même manière que son prédécesseur, la MC20, dont l’âme de course est explicitement dégagée par son seul nom, annonce l’intention de revenir dans le monde des courses.

 

Category:

Exposants 2021