BUGATTI Bolide

BUGATTI Bolide

Winner Grand Prize
most beautiful Hyper Car

 

An uncompromising experience, a thoroughbred that, in its raw exclusivity, impresses above all with its high performance, low weight and a driving experience of a new dimension. Driving the Bolide is like driving a cannonball.

With the experimental study of the Bugatti Bolide, the French luxury car manufacturer presents a new and unique vehicle concept for the ultimate Bugatti boost: a super sports track car with the series-produced W16 engine combined with minimal bodywork for maximum downforce. The Bolide offers an unprecedented and ultimate Bugatti driving experience: small, raw, authentic.

The Bolide Bugatti is the most extreme, uncompromising, fastest and lightest vehicle concept in the company’s recent history – with an incredible power-to-weight ratio of 0.67 kg per PS. This is made possible by the combination of the 1,850 HP W16 engine and a vehicle weight of just 1,240 kg. The Bugatti Bolide achieves figures almost equivalent to those of Formula 1, while its top speed is well over 500 km/h – without compromising maximum manoeuvrability and agility.

The DNA : Bugatti type 35
In the 1920s, Bugatti produced one of the most successful racing cars of all time: the Type 35. This open-top sports car won more than 2,000 victories between 1924 and 1930, making it a real legend in racing history. It was inimitable in terms of technology, design and performance: powered by a 2.3-litre in-line 8-cylinder engine at high revs, the supercharged evolutionary models developed 140 PS and could reach top speeds of more than 215 km/h. In addition to their impressive power, these engines were renowned above all for their reliability and endurance. And their lightness: a race-ready Bugatti Type 35 weighed only about 750 kilograms, making it a masterpiece in terms of its power-to-weight ratio.
The Type 35 was inimitable in its time in terms of technology, design and performance. Just like the Bugatti Bolide today.

Designed to perform
“In 16 years at Bugatti, I have never worked on a more extreme vehicle concept” – Achim Anscheidt, Bugatti Design Director.
The design of the Bugatti Bolide is radically adapted to the idea of lightweight construction, resulting in the most provocative proportion of a modern Bugatti ever made and the quintessential distillation of our Bugatti design ethic: form follows performance.

The stylistic challenge was to transform the irreducible demands of aerodynamics and lightweight construction into an aesthetic that reflects Bugatti’s unique DNA, but at the same time illustrates the ambition of an impressive power-to-weight ratio. The overall appearance is dominated by air ducts that are more reminiscent of Formula 1 racing cars than of classic sports cars. The filigree, semi-open front end is a striking example of the combination of air duct expertise, lightweight construction requirements and aesthetic dynamics.

The influence of aviation
The ultra-sporty driver’s seat provides the low-slung shape of an aircraft at low altitude. It is therefore not surprising that the appearance of the Bugatti Bolide evokes the “Xs” of aviation history and shows a clear X signature from every angle. It is indirectly reminiscent of the first jet plane that broke the sound barrier at Mach 1.06 in 1947. The Bugatti “X-periment” has the shape of an aerodynamically optimised and uncompromising racing car and offers ultra-sporty and superlative performance – without any hint of luxury.

Also, the design language of the Bugatti Bolide heralds back to the marque’s track-bred heritage, with the X signature present on the front of the Bolide representing the taped ‘X’ that historic racing cars would use to cover headlights, preventing the spread of glass in the event of an accident as the Type 57G Tank.

Category:

exhibitors 2021

BUGATTI Bolide

BUGATTI Bolide

Lauréat du Grand Prix
Plus Belle Hyper Car

 

Une expérience sans compromis, un pur-sang, un Pur Sang qui, dans son exclusivité brute, impressionne surtout par ses hautes performances, son faible poids et une expérience de conduite d’une nouvelle dimension. Conduire le Bolide, c’est comme rouler sur un boulet de canon.

Avec l’étude expérimentale de la Bugatti Bolide, le constructeur français de voitures de luxe présente un nouveau concept de véhicule unique pour le coup de fouet ultime de la Bugatti : une voiture hyper sportive de piste dotée du moteur W16 dérivé de la production en série combiné à une carrosserie minimale pour une force d’appui maximale. La Bolide offre une expérience de conduite Bugatti sans précédent et ultime : réduite, brute, authentique.

Le Bolide Bugatti est le concept de véhicule le plus extrême, le plus intransigeant, le plus rapide et le plus léger de l’histoire récente de la société – avec un incroyable rapport poids/puissance de 0,67 kg par PS. Ceci est rendu possible grâce à la combinaison du moteur W16 de 1 850 CV et d’un poids de véhicule de seulement 1 240 kg. La Bugatti Bolide atteint des chiffres presque équivalents à ceux de la Formule 1, tandis que sa vitesse de pointe est bien supérieure à 500 km/h – sans compromettre la maniabilité et l’agilité maximales.

 

L’ADN ; Bugatti de type 35
Dans les années 1920, Bugatti a produit l’une des voitures de course les plus réussies de tous les temps : la Type 35. Cette voiture de sport à toit ouvrant a remporté plus de 2 000 victoires entre 1924 et 1930, ce qui en fait une véritable légende dans l’histoire des courses. Elle était inimitable en termes de technologie, de design et de performances : propulsés par un 8 cylindres en ligne de 2,3 litres à haut régime, les modèles évolutifs suralimentés développaient 140 PS et pouvaient atteindre des vitesses de pointe de plus de 215 km/h. En plus de leur puissance impressionnante, ces moteurs étaient surtout réputés pour leur fiabilité et leur endurance. Et leur légèreté : une Bugatti Type 35 prête pour la course ne pesait qu’environ 750 kilogrammes, ce qui en faisait un chef-d’œuvre en termes de rapport poids/puissance.

Le Type 35 était inimitable en son temps en termes de technologie, de design et de performances. Tout comme la Bugatti Bolide aujourd’hui.

 

Conçue pour performer
« En 16 ans chez Bugatti, je n’ai jamais travaillé sur un concept de véhicule plus extrême » – Achim Anscheidt, directeur du design chez Bugatti.

Le design de la Bugatti Bolide est radicalement adapté à l’idée de construction légère, ce qui donne la proportion la plus provocante d’une Bugatti moderne jamais réalisée et la quintessence distillée de notre éthique du design Bugatti : la forme suit la performance.

Le défi stylistique consistait à transformer les exigences irréductibles de l’aérodynamisme et de la construction légère en une esthétique qui reflète l’ADN unique de Bugatti, mais qui illustre en même temps l’ambition d’un rapport poids/puissance impressionnant. L’aspect général est dominé par des conduits d’air qui rappellent davantage les voitures de course de Formule 1 que les voitures de sport classiques. La partie avant, en apparence filigrane et semi-ouverte, est un exemple frappant de la combinaison de l’expertise en matière de conduits d’air, des exigences de construction légère et de la dynamique esthétique.

 

L’influence de l’aviation 
Le siège ultra sportif du conducteur permet d’obtenir la forme basse d’un avion à basse altitude. Il n’est donc pas surprenant que l’apparence de la Bugatti Bolide évoque les « X » de l’histoire de l’aviation et montre une signature en X claire sous tous les angles. Il rappelle indirectement le premier avion à réaction qui a franchi le mur du son à Mach 1,06 en 1947. Le Bolide Bugatti « X-periment » a la forme d’une voiture de course optimisée sur le plan aérodynamique et sans compromis, et offre des performances ultra sportives et superlatives – sans aucun soupçon de luxe.

Il rappelle l’héritage de la marque sur les circuits, avec la signature X présente sur le devant de la Bolide. Ce rajout, permettaient aux voitures de course historiques de couvrir les phares, empêchant la propagation du verre en cas d’accident telle que la Type 57GTank.

 

Category:

Exposants 2021